Ben Brooks notes:
In Finder, when you delete an item the next item in the view is then selected. Previously in 10.7, when you deleted an item in any view, no other items would be selected. This is an amazingly nice touch if, like me, you often use Quick Look to peruse the files sitting in a folder, while hitting CMD+Delete to get rid of the ones you no longer want. Now you don’t have to find the spot you were in, you can just keep on going.